Back from the Dead

March 23, 2008

Not really dead, but maybe a little comatose. When we last left this blog it was just before the holidays and their accompanying craziness. So here we are, well into a new year with lots going on and lots on the horizon. I am definitely one of those people who likes the beginning of the year. I definitely look at it as a blank slate, a chance to begin again or start over– a good time for change.

Three months in and there has been a good deal of change in the department. We have had a bit of staff turnover and are in the midst of filling some positions. People view staff turnover in different ways. Some people look at it as a bad thing or a negative indicator. I am not one of those people. I like staff turnover–not all at once, but I look at it as an opportunity to breathe new life into the department. Not to say that those who have departed will not be missed, but it is the chance to see things from a new perspective. To shake things up a little. To make changes and to move forward.

Since I have been here, I have only had the opportunity to hire one new staff member so I am enjoying the chance to hire a few more new staff members. In access services it is really more about personality type than it is experience.  I really like people with fun personalities who  can roll with change and who like working with the public.  That type of personality can come from a wide array of work experience and environments.

2 Responses to “Back from the Dead”

  1. Nicole said

    Just wanted to say I’m so glad you’re “back”. I’ve deleted A LOT of librarian blogs from my feed reader recently, but kept yours.

  2. Andrew said

    Glad your back as well. I went through a similar situation last fall, and while it was nice being able to hire people I liked (sort of…) I was doing 3 at once. I never, want to go through that many again. It just happened that 2 of the staff got offers for professional jobs…

    On the positive side, looking back on it, it was a good opportunity in a lot of ways. New people, new ideas, cooperation in the library, test of my skills, and at times test of my patience with higher powers..

Leave a Reply

