Maybe I Should be Surprised, but I’m Sorta Not….

November 17, 2008

I would like to take a moment to thank the Journal of Access Services for driving home the point that the work we do here in access services is ripe for the mocking.  I can’t exactly pinpoint my reaction to the fact that every article in the current issue is authored by the Annoyed Librarian.  I guess it wouldn’t bother me so much if I didn’t feel that the AL is just way more negative than they are witty or satirical.  I was a fan of AL a while back, but that changed when I found myself flinching more than laughing at the posts.

I guess I am feeling mostly disappointed that a peer-reviewed journal, in my particular area of librarianship, would publish 10 chapters of ranting.  I am all for having a sense of humor and throwing digs at some of the more absurd and knee-jerk reactions libraries and librarians tend to have, but I think the AL is just a lot of negative without a counter balance of anything positive.  Frankly, I am tired of negative.

For other opinions on this topic see the following posts:

2 Responses to “Maybe I Should be Surprised, but I’m Sorta Not….”

  1. jbharper said

    Would it be blasphemous to suggest that we (access services, interlibrary loan etc… librarians) start our own free, online, peer reviewed journal? I can’t afford JAS or JILDDER and my library doesn’t feel they are worth subscribing to (another slap in the face as far as I’m concerned.)

    Just a thought.

    James

  2. Karen said

    I say do it James. Since, obviously, we are never going to be taken seriously.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

